April 29th, 2022 @ 1 PM

Sticht Lecture Hall

Click below to relive the final round!

Seven teams competed for their share of over $25,000!

How it works

Each team advancing to the finals has made it through a rigorous round of review by independent reviewers, who scored the teams’ pitches based on criteria such as their solution to a real problem, their forecasted costs & revenue, and their unfair advantage.

Now, each team will pitch to a panel of judges. Presentations will be 8 minutes long followed by 6 minutes of Q&A.

The Competitors

AquaHawk Technologies

AquaHawk Technologies™ uses accurate and cost-effective underwater Time-of-Flight green laser cameras to perform subaquatic 3D modeling.

Ethan Raynaud ’22
Peyton Brogan ’22
Fisher Koons ’22
Jeffrey Pew ’22
Nicholas Sparks ’22


A digital platform seeking to connect community members with nonprofits and inspire social good.

Molly McCommons ’25
Benjamin Anastasi ’25
Liam Grossman ’25


DrinkFixd provides a package of resources to help bars protect their customers from sexual assault.

Gus Minotto ’24
Sarah Welker ’24
Tessa Stewart ’25
Chloe Kuhns ’25
Oliver Schwarz  ’25

Happy Feet

A foot pod that uses the sound of a runner’s feet to provide insight on form and prevent injury.

Amanda Mayer ’22
Libby Stewart ’22
Lillian Jeynes ’22
Nathan Warrick ’22

No, It's You

An online resource and apparel brand designed to equip customers with tools needed to recognize, address, and overcome psychological and relational abuse.

Katelyn Rose Emmons ’24
Olivia O’Brien ’22


A service providing a quick and fun means of transportation for the campus.

Jonathan French ’25


An app-controlled portable greenhouse that helps academic establishments conveniently and successfully grow plants in conditions not typically suitable for plant life.

Bailey Mantzell ’22
Benjamin Salaj ’22
Jael Compton ’22
Lindsey Cummings ’22


How much $$$ did each team walk away with?

AquaHawk Technologies: $7,475
Selva: $6,995
Scootie: $3,300
Happy Feet: $3,120
Civitas: $2,120
No, It’s You: $1,645
DrinkFixd: $1,320 + $500 Fan Favorite award

Wolverine Venture Battle 2022 Sponsors

Heartfelt thanks to our sponsors for their generous support.



Laura (Koller ’11) and RJ Fryan ‘08

The Habbershon Family:
Tim ’81, Grant ’06, Meredith ’07, Jonathan ’09, and Natalie ‘11


Rick Newton '86



Paul Passaro


Dan Creston '81

                   The Kiska Family:                                    Stan ’85, Deanna ’87,                 Evan ’20, and Lauren

                  The Pentz Family:                                     Mark ‘81, Cheri ‘79,                    Michael ‘06, Yvonne ‘06

              John '68 & Betsy Baun                            Charitable Foundation              (Pittsburgh Foundation)

                  Susan (Peshek ’81)                    and Peter Durfee ‘80

Bill Smith '69

Jeff Moxie '80


Three (3) hours accounting/financial consultation

Filming and production of one (1) promo video

One (1) year of webhosting

Six (6) months access to PatentHacks platform

Logo consultation for all teams entering

Cedric E. Lewis, JD/MBA

Five (5) hours legal consultation

Thank you to our Reviewers!

Our reviewers faced the difficult task of narrowing the field of competitors down to the seven finalist teams.

Bob Baierl 
Frances Baldwin
Toby Basalla ’98
Chris Botting ’83
Scott Brainard ’76
Jonathan Brutt ’17
Abby (Schiela ’18) Bukowski
Vince Cassano ’88
Craig Creaturo ’92
Jonathan Cutler ’11
Brad Dearborn ’78
Ellie (Stanchak ’13) DelTurco
Rachel (Brockhage ’12) Ellison
Ruth (Dykstra ’07) Entwistle
Kim Ford ’72
Collin Foster ’12
Greg Gillispie
Curt Given ’84
Brian Gongaware ’92
Anita Greggs-Perez ’78
Glenn Grossman

Matthew Hackworth ’97
Victoria (Irey ’12) Hassett
Brittany (Hayward ’11) Hoffman
John Holt ’84
Don Hudock
Chris Hussar ’99
Edward Huttenhower ’76
Melissa (Marshall ’92) Jacobs
Bob Keller ’73
Andy Kmiec ’96
Karolina Lagerquist ’16
Don Lockhart ’67
Evan Lowe ’89
Beth (Ranker ’96) Marraccini
Dean Marraccini
Wendy Marshall ’81
Lauren Beth (Howell ’10) Marts
Wendy (Sabados ’88) Mascio
Glenn McDonald ’75
Scott McDowell ’87
Winifred (Williams ’77) McGee


Alan Mesches ’71
William Messner ’96
Brian Montgomery ’96
Liam Morris ’08
Ben Moyer ’01
Robin Parsons
John Romain ’85
Steven Roman ’96
Daniel Rossi-Keen ’99
John Roush
Alissa (Hermann ’96) Sgro
Kelly Shields ’97
Neil Skoriak
Lydia Smith ’12
Steve Solman ’96
Bethany Stillwaggon ’13
Brett Strouss ’82
Allyson (Baird ’88) Sveda
Tyler Vielguth ’14
Steve Wickman